Bryan Cranston and Blair Underwood lead the Hollyshorts Film Festival jury


Bryan Cranston, Blair Underwood and Jennifer Morrison will lead the jury at this year’s Hollyshorts Film Festival.

They will be joined by Stephanie Lang, Joanna Quinn, David Dastmalchian, Adaku Ononogbo and Jeremy Swift.

Scheduled to open August 11 at the TCL Chinese Theater in Hollywood and virtually via the BITPIX platform, the festival will screen a number of short films, including Steve McQueen’s prostate cancer documentary “Embarrassed,” starring Idris Elba,” Mink!” by Ben Proudfoot. about the first woman of color elected to the United States House of Representatives and “Bump” by Rory Keenan, with Gemma Arterton.

Also screening on opening night are “38 and the Garden” by Frank Chi, the comedy “The Problem with Time Travel” by Mike Kearby, “Triggered” by Tara Westwood with Isiah Whitlock Jr. and Robert John Burke, ” Crosshairs” from “Coral Amiga” and Evan “Thoughts and Prayers” from Miller, which features Adrianne Palicki and Zachary Levi.

Meanwhile, Russell Goldman’s “Return to Sender” – which features Jamie Lee Curtis and Allison Tolman – will open the Epic/Dread Horror schedule.

In a statement, Curis said: “On my sister’s 64th birthday, she was sent walking sticks. She asked me if I had sent them. I said no and it began a chilling odyssey of where the things she never ordered came from. I shared this story with my director of development at Comet Pictures and co-writer of our feature, “Mother Nature” Russell Goldman and “Return to Sender” was his response. Russell is a Wesleyan graduate and we both enjoy so much independent filmmaking and the wonderful opportunity that shorts give filmmakers to tell stories in condensed forms. As a producer, I am particularly happy and proud of Russell and this wonderful effort made for nothing in a few days. Fortunately, Allison Tolman agreed that the story had merit and a taut line that made it an exciting short. She is sensational in the film and we are very, very happy that she was selected as the opening night film.

Hollyshorts programmers Nicole Castro, Daniel Sol and Theo Dumont said, “It is truly a pleasure to announce this year’s official selections for HollyShorts as we enter our 18th anniversary Oscar qualifying festival with two winners of the Oscars last year and six nominees. This year we have a record 41 countries represented in the official selections, which is truly a testament to the global impact of short films. We look forward to sharing these incredibly talented shorts at this year’s festival and thank all of the filmmakers who submitted as well as all of our amazing team and incredible sponsors for supporting us.


About Author

Comments are closed.