Hamptons International Film Festival Announces Competition Winners


Moments ago, the 30th installment of the Hamptons International Film Festival announced the winners of their competition. In particular, the feature film category awarded the prize to Lucas Dhontit is close, an upcoming A24 version. More can be seen in the press release below.

Here is the HIFF press release:

The 30th Anniversary Edition of the Hamptons International Film Festival, presented by HamptonsFilm, today announced the winners of this year’s feature and short film competition. This year, HIFF screened 69 feature films and 51 short films from 34 countries, with nine (9) world premieres, three (3) North American premieres and twelve (12) American premieres.

A24 CLOSErealized by Lucas Dhontwhich follows two thirteen-year-old best friends, whose seemingly unbreakable bond is suddenly and tragically torn apart, won Best Narrative Feature at this year’s festival. Winner of this year’s Cannes Grand Prix, the film is an emotionally transformative and unforgettable portrait of the intersection of friendship and love, identity and independence, grief and healing. The Narrative Feature Competition honors emerging directors who represent the next generation of innovative cinematic artists. Judged by world-class filmmakers and industry professionals, the winning narrative feature film receives a cash prize of $3,000 as well as a film production package of in-kind goods and services with a total value of $82 $500, sponsored by Panavision, Silvercup Studios/Silvertrucks, Hamptons locations and on-site education.

PRAY FOR OUR FISHERMENrealized by Sinead O’Sheawon this year Best Documentary Feature. The film documents the people of O’Shea’s hometown and the control exercised by the Catholic Church, showing their quiet victories, ongoing struggles, and the eccentricities of life in a small Irish town. These startling yet uplifting stories use rare first-hand accounts to describe the horrors of mother-child homes, the prevalence of violence against children, and the co-dependent relationship between church, state, and its people. Showcasing a range of powerful topics, the Documentary Feature Competition honors new and distinctive voices in documentary filmmaking. Judged by world-class filmmakers and industry professionals, the winning feature-length documentary receives a cash prize of $3,000 as well as a film production package of in-kind goods and services worth a total of $20 $000, sponsored by 91 East Productions and GreenSlate.

HIFF also announced the winners of this year’s festival short film program, including SNOW IN SEPTEMBERrealized by Lkhagvadulam Purev-Ochir, who won Best Narrative Short; and WHEN THE LAPD BLOWS UP YOUR NEIGHBORHOODrealized by Nathan Truedell, who won Best Documentary Short. In addition, the festival would like to make a special mention for THE PAIN OF MICHAEL THOMPSON, directed by Kyle Thrash and Haley Elizabeth Anderson. Judged by world-class filmmakers and industry professionals, winners of the Short Narrative and Documentary Competition will take home a cash prize of $500 and qualify for the Oscar® Award®.

The jury for this year’s narrative competition was made up of producers and directors of award-winning feature films, television and theater Fred Bernierbest known for producing Oscar-winning POLLOCK, VANYA ON 42nd STREET, THE GREAT WHITE HYPE and THE BALLAD OF LITTLE JO; president of production at Amblin Partners Jeb Brody, who oversees a slate of films produced under the company’s Amblin Entertainment and DreamWorks Pictures banners, including 1917, FINCH and the upcoming THE LAST VOYAGE OF THE DEMETER; and Chief Film Curator Celeste Bartos at the Museum of Modern Art Rajendra Roywho previously joined HIFF as Director of Programming (2002-2006) before becoming Artistic Director (2006-2007).

The documentary competition jury included POV’s Emmy Award®-winning short film co-producer and producer, Opal H. Bennett, known for her work on POV Shorts, which won the 2020 IDA Award for Best Short Series; entertainment writer Jordan Hoffman, whose works can currently be read on vanity lounge, The audiovisual club, The Guardianand The Times of Israel; and Founder and CEO of the Artemis Rising Foundation Regina Scully, who has produced over 200 documentary films as a social entrepreneur, media activist and filmmaker.

This year, the Festival had the honor of partnering with the New York Film Critics Circle for the fourteenth year.

“We are so grateful to this year’s class of filmmakers for allowing us to welcome so many critical and timely projects to our competitive sections,” said HamptonsFilm Artistic Director David Nugent. “None of this would be possible without the help of our distinguished jury members who are all such wonderful representations of their various corners of the industry. I would also like to take this opportunity to thank our hardworking programming team of curating such an amazing lineup of movies and programs for everyone to celebrate 30 years in the East.

“As the 30th anniversary edition of our festival draws to a close, we couldn’t be happier to recognize the winners of this year’s feature and short film competitions,” said Anne Chaisson, Executive Director of HamptonsFilm. . “It’s such an honor to know that our festival continues to be recognized as a destination for some of the most exciting and dynamic titles of the year.”

2022 festival attendees included Alec and Hilaria Baldwin, Mariska Hargitay, Chelsea Clinton, Stephanie Hsu, Hugh Jackman, Kaitlyn Dever, Jordana Brewster, Bob Balaban, Adam Pally, Reid Scott, Keith Beauchamp, Crystal Reed, Martin McDonagh, Chris Columbus, Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert, Peter Hedges, Rory Kennedy, Oliver Hermanus, Austin Bragg, Meredith Bragg, Judith Ivey, Sheila McCarthy, Christina Jackson, Cory Michael Smith, Wyatt Fenner, Joey Taranto, Raul Castillo, Park Ji-min, Antonia Buresi , Laura Checkoway, Patricia E. Gillespie, Sadaf Foroughi, David Petersen, Robert S. Bader, Dick Cavett, Xavier Manrique, Mike Doyle, Moses Bwayo, Jules Naudet, Gedeon Naudet, Daniel Goldhaber, Sacha Jenkins, JD Dillard, Ricki Stern, Ryan White, Ben Klein, Violet Columbus, Todd Flaherty, Karen Maine, Nancy Buirski, Matthew Heineman, Mia Hansen-Løve, and more.

The 30th annual Hamptons Film Festival is set to conclude on Sunday, October 16, 2022, following an extended 10-day event. HIFF thanks this year’s festival supporters, including first returning sponsor Audi; Iconic Sponsors Netflix, Silvercup Studios, Variety, and Gibson Dunn; and supporting sponsor Regal Cinemas; as well as new title sponsor The Macallan; Supporting Sponsors Crystal Head Vodka and Dragon Hemp; WNBC official media sponsors, The East Hampton Star, The purist, WNET, Long Island Broadcast Radio EHM, 101.7 The Beach and 102.5 BAZ; and long-term support from the New York State Council on the Arts and the Suffolk County Film Commission. For more information, please visit www.hamptonsfilmfest.org.


Winner of the HIFF Award for Best Narrative Feature
CLOSE, directed by Lukas Dhont

Winner of the HIFF Award for Best Documentary Feature

PRAY FOR OUR SINNERS, directed by Sinéad O’Shea

HIFF Award Winner for Best Narrative Short Film

SNOW IN SEPTEMBER, directed by Lkhagvadulam Purev-Ochir

HIFF Award Winner for Best Documentary Short Film


Special mention for THE SENTENCE OF MICHAEL THOMPSON, directed by Kyle Thrash and Haley Elizabeth Anderson

Source: press release


About Author

Comments are closed.